I5 3570k on air cooling

Hey there guys I recently bought an I5 3570k for my new rig and I am very pleased with it at stock speeds but I have come to the point where I feel like I want to overclock it because that is the reason I bought the unlocked chip it would of been pointless buying the unlocked one if I wasn't going to overclock it, I am a bit of a novice at overclocking so take it easy on me but I was looking to get around 4.2 - 4.5ghz with an air cooler and I need you to suggest some good and affordable coolers that I could get around these speeds with safe temps. My motherboard is a MSI Z77MA-G45 so if anyone can also help me with what settings to change in the BIOS with this motherboard that would be greatly appreciated and also my case is a cooler master HAF 912+ ans apparently that has 175mm cpu cooler clearance although if you know better that it doesn't I'll take your word for it, my PSU is a corsair CX750 and also my RAM is 2x8gb corsair vengeance so I need enough clearance for two sticks of them. Thank you for any help you can provide and have a good christmans ;D
12 answers Last reply
More about 3570k cooling
  1. OK congrats on your new build.

Suggested coolers :

Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo, with this you will definitely have enough RAM clearance and will fit in your case. This is also the cheapest cooler i can suggest. You will get 4.2GHz easily but 4.5GHz is uncertain. Depends very much on your chip.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103099

Noctua NH-D14, a larger and better cooler. Will definitely allow you to hit 4.5GHz if your chip is decent. The clearance on your RAM SHOULD be fine. I am not sure about your board.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835608024