Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Should I overclock?

Last response: in Overclocking
December 25, 2012 9:29:31 PM

Hello there! Im a long time lurker finally posting. =]

Anyways, I have an i5 2550k Sandy Bridge. Asrock mobo. And its coming to point where im tempted to overclock. Now I have never done it before. I dont want to fry the cpu or the mobo. What precautions should I take before deciding to overclock? Its fairly cold here where I live. Im not sure if I would have to buy an aftermarket cpu fan.

A friend of mine claims that I shouldn't even touch it. It reduces the lifespan of a cpu to about year. Sounds ridiculous, but in general he knows more about computers than I do. Im not sure if I should believe him.

I want the extra juice to run Ableton better. Im not entirely sure if that's the ideal solution. Abletons cpu meter goes over 100% and start stuttering glitching and lagging on my larger projects. Which is odd because when I open up the task manager, it tells me its using 30% of my overall cpu while the ableton cpu meter is spiking. I dont know what to make of this.

Ive enabled all my 4 cores, closed unnecessary programs, and enabled game boost.

Should I compromise and deal with spike within ableton. Its time consuming and slows down my workflow, but its possible bypassing this issue using several techniques. Or should I go ahead, take the risk, and overclock?

(also will the extra cpu power allow me to run Borderlands 2 physx better? I have a Radeon 6870 btw)

More about : overclock

Best solution

December 25, 2012 10:50:32 PM

cerealbox760 said:
Anyways, I have an i5 2550k Sandy Bridge. Asrock mobo. And its coming to point where im tempted to overclock. Now I have never done it before. I dont want to fry the cpu or the mobo. What precautions should I take before deciding to overclock? Its fairly cold here where I live. Im not sure if I would have to buy an aftermarket cpu fan.

First off, you don't have an aftermarket fan?! Get one right away.