Linksoul

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2010
I'm new to computer building. I have ran into several problems with people telling me this is better than that, etc... The computer I wish to build will be used for; Gaming (Ultra/Highest Graphics), CAD, and occasionally the computer will be hooked up to a 70" plasma TV.
I was hoping somebody can redirect me to a forum or website to help me, or list their computer info so I could copy cat or something. And price isn't a problem.

Ex Problem: I was told the i7-920 was better than the 975 because it was cheaper, and could be overclocked on air to the same core speed of the 975. This confuses me because: A 920 OC'd = 975 Normal (by theory above), wouldn't OC'ing a 975 be better if I have the money to drop on it?

Thanks is given to those who submit answers.

Solution
Welcome to THGF.:)

I'm new to computer
building. I have ran into several problems with people telling me this is better than that, etc...

Building your own PC can be very fulfilling....., or frustrating, depending on your knowledge of the subject.

One of the best ways to learn more about building your own PC for example would be to read something like this article for starters.

Next you might read this article about selecting motherboards.

Ex Problem: I was told the i7-920 was better than the 975 because it was cheaper, and could be overclocked on air to the same core speed of the 975. This confuses me because: A 920 OC'd = 975 Normal (by theory above), wouldn't OC'ing a 975 be better if I have the money to...

jack_attack

Distinguished
Aug 26, 2009
You'll run into the opinions a lot, because most of it is. Some people are content with an Athlon II X2, some need more. It's all what you're doing with it.