• Motherboards
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
March 3, 2010 12:40:10 PM

Hello there.

I have been around the and looking at reviews and stuff to be founding this build:

CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE
GPU: ATI Radeon HD 5770
Harddrive: WD Caviar Blue WD5000AAKS 500 GB
Case: NZXT Classic Series M59

And i am obviously missing something the motherboard and RAM. I am just so confused about the whole motherboard thing, so many different motherboards :S....

I have found out that for my use the 790x chipset would be fine. And the motherboard should have AM3 socket..
A HDMI-port og what it is, could be very neat too. Overcloking capability is fine asweel. Though i have no experience what so ever..

I do not need more than 2 gigs of RAM since i am running xp. But i do not know which combination is best: 2 x 1gb or 1 x 2gb..
The most important thing is that the RAM is supported by the motherboard ^^

Cheers!

More about : budget gamer

a b V Motherboard
March 3, 2010 12:47:41 PM

We could do something for you if you followed the guidelines from the link in my signature. We need to know at least what the budget is and what parts you already have. We also need to know if you want to Crossfire, since that matters a lot to what board to pick...

2x1 GB is better, as dual channel needs two sticks. I would highly recommend get 2x2 GB. Here's an excellent 4 GB kit that's fairly priced: RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2 GB 1600 mhz CAS Latency 7 $115

For a motherboard, I would recommend Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4 ($125 after rebate) if you want Crossfire. If you don't, the Gigabyte GA-770TA-UD3 ($85 after rebate) is good.

And a comment on what you've already choosen:

That HDD is a bad choice. It's a lot slower than the cheaper Samsung Spinpoint F3 500 GB or Seagate 7200.12 500 GB.
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
March 3, 2010 1:15:54 PM

Thanks for the quick answer :-)

Budget: 500 €