Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Looking for a quality motherboard for a low budget

Last response: in Motherboards
October 23, 2010 8:25:59 PM

Hi all, I am trying to figure out a decent, affordable homebuilt computer. This is my first home built, so I'm still learning a few things.

Here's what I intend to use on it:

- AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban

- SAPPHIRE 100289L Radeon HD 5670 (Redwood) 1GB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 (x2)

- Thermaltake Element G VL10001W2Z Black ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

- OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ700MXSP 700W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V

- Kingston SSDNow V Series SNV425-S2/64GB 2.5" 64GB SATA II Internal Solid State Drive

- G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL (x2)

- Corsair Nova CSSD-V32GB2-BRKT 2.5" 32GB SATA II Internal Solid State Drive

- Seagate Barracuda LP ST32000542AS 2TB 5900 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive -Bare Drive

- LG Black 10X Blu-ray Burner - Bulk SATA WH10LS30 LightScribe Support - OEM

I would like a fairly customizable and expandable motherboard that supports all these components. The other thing is that I will probably use some components from my HP Pavilion Elite e9240f while I save for more components. For instance, I plan to buy the case, power supply, and memory first. That means I'll use my current CPU, HDD, graphics card, and disc drives at first. The specs for those are here: http://goo.gl/ZHBs.
a b V Motherboard
October 23, 2010 8:58:30 PM

Few pointers on your build first -

1. Your hard drive choices are quite confusing.. Why do you need to low capacity SSD's.? That too, getting a 32GB SSD is complete waste of money IMO.. My advice is to get a single large quantity SSD (something like the OCZ Vertex2 120GB or Crucial RealSSD 128GB).. Further, Kingston SSD's are not that great..