Sign in with
Your question

Fan directions, conflicting information.

Last response: in Overclocking
December 28, 2012 2:14:19 PM

There appears to be some conflicting information about the direction one should install case fans. I decided to test which configuration appears to be the most effective.

Most people seem to be in agreement that the CPU heat sink fan should be drawing air over and away from the CPU, in other words the exhaust facing away from the CPU. However the disagreement appears to be over the rear case fan/s and whether or not they should draw air into/or expel air out of the case.

I have a Coolermaster HAF X with one rear case fan, curiously the manufacturer installs this fan with exhaust facing out, suggesting they believe this to be the more effective configuration.
I have experimented with the configuration of the fan and I found the exhaust facing inwards (opposite to the manufacturer's configuration) on average to decrease the CPU core temp by 2°C. I agree that further statistical analysis may be required to establish whether or not this is significant.

Data included here: https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B24QGy-OPsWXSzRxb3BmV0...

I tested by running 10 stress tests (5 of each config) using IntelBurnTestV2 and recorded data using AIDA64.
Any insight into this would be appreciated.
a c 120 à CPUs
a c 89 K Overclocking
December 28, 2012 2:36:42 PM

The accepted airflow configuration in a computer case is front to back in an attempt to keep the airflow as laminar as possible. This provides cooling to all components within the case. Reversing the rear fan may bring your CPU temperatures down but has the potential to create a stall in the airflow over other vital components (such as the south bridge which is usually passively cooled). I'm not saying your idea is bad but there are other considerations than CPU temp.
My $0.02
December 28, 2012 3:58:29 PM

This is insightful thank you.
Related resources
a c 120 à CPUs
a c 89 K Overclocking