Sign in with
Your question

CPU Overclocking? GPU Overclocking? Is it worth looking into???

Last response: in Overclocking
December 28, 2012 8:09:24 PM

Hi Everyone!

I am a newbie in the world of serious gaming and wanted to know if overclocking is really worth looking into? I am about to have an Alienware R-4 ALX delivered with the following specs:

Intel Core i7-3960X (Six Core Extreme, 15MB Cache) Overclocked up to 4.0Ghz
Dual 2GB GDDR5 AMD Radeon HD 7870
32GB Quad Channel DDR3 at 1600MHz
Serial ATA III RAID 0 with Dual 2TB Hard Drives

I regret getting the Raid 0 configuration after doing a little research on hard drive failures. Other than that, I am pumped about my new system.

Thanks for all your help,

MLGamer
December 28, 2012 9:10:19 PM

Why do people buy alienware? It's such a ripoff.

To your question: It's matter of personal opinion I guess. If you are doing heavy workloads with your CPU or have a wide array of video cards that will be easily bottlenecked , id say yes. As for your GPU, it can be, but honestly to me it isn't going to make an earth shattering difference in gaming, maybe more of a difference in GPU accelerated programs.

On a side note: I do find my video card overclock useful in situations where my FPS is under 45. There I can notice a major difference, but if its 45+, why bother imo
m
l
December 28, 2012 9:24:06 PM

discordian said:
Why do people buy alienware? It's such a ripoff.

To your question: It's matter of personal opinion I guess. If you are doing heavy workloads with your CPU or have a wide array of video cards that will be easily bottlenecked , id say yes. As for your GPU, it can be, but honestly to me it isn't going to make an earth shattering difference in gaming, maybe more of a difference in GPU accelerated programs.

On a side note: I do find my video card overclock useful in situations where my FPS is under 45. There I can notice a major difference, but if its 45+, why bother imo