2500k @ 4.5 passes stress tests, fails to boot to windows days later

danielsix

Honorable
Dec 28, 2012
This is my first attempt at overclocking a CPU, and it's left me very confused. I followed the Sandy Bridge guide on Clunk, and overclocked my 2500k to 4.5 at 1.325v(with VDroop is was more like 1.3 under load). It passed a 12 hours on Prime95 overnight with no errors and seemed stable, temperatures were pretty low. Everything worked perfectly for 24 hours, it ran fine during gaming and normal use, but the today the computer would not even boot to windows. 3 times it either froze at the start screen or almost immediately after loading the desktop. I double checked all my bios settings and everything was the same as when it was stable. I restored the settings back to factory default and the computer ran perfectly again. The overclock was done via manual voltage, not offset.

CPU: i5 2500k
Mobo: Asus p8z77-v LE

These were the only settings I changed:

AI Overclock Tuner - Manual
By All Cores - 45
Internal PLL Overvoltage - Disabled
Load Line Calibration - High
CPU Voltage - Manual
CPU Manual Voltage - 1.325v
DRAM Voltage - 1.35v (correct for my RAM)

Could it just be some instability that Prime95 didn't catch? It just seemed odd that it could go from stable and running perfectly for an entire day, to not even being able to boot.

steddora

Honorable
Nov 13, 2012
Did you slowly work your way up to 4.5Ghz? Or did you simply set it to 45x multi and that voltage? I'd honestly recommend you back down to something like 1.2v at 4.2Ghz and see what happens there. 1.35v seems a tad high for the voltage at 4.5Ghz but I may be wrong. However I do know my 2600k actually runs 4.5Ghz at 1.315v very stoutly with level 3 LLC.

danielsix

Honorable
Dec 28, 2012