APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: now-2 weeks from now

BUDGET RANGE: >=$900 before rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: gaming, internet, movies

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, OS

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com, zzf.com COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: TN, USA

PARTS PREFERENCES: by brand or type AMD, ATI

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1440x900

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I am a recent college graduate who is looking to replace the computer i have had since ~6 years ago. A HS buddy built the one I have now. It worked fairly well for what I needed until the last six months or so when it finally gave up the ghost. I am going to try to build a new one for the first time. My budget is bigger now that I am no longer a broke college kid though still somewhat limited, and my interests have turned more toward gaming than they were 6 years ago. I am by no means a super-serious gamer, but I would like to build something with the ability to handle newer games decently for a reasonable price. A friend who has built a few systems is giving me some advice and helped me come up with a working parts list.

Any suggestions on the parts that could potentially lower the price without sacrificing much performance would be much appreciated, as well as any general comments on the build that we are working on. I knew next to nothing about most of this a week ago, and its possible that i still don't, so please let me know if I am missing anything. A lot of research here and elsewhere has gotten me to this point, so I'd be glad to learn more.

MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-770TA UD3 $99.99
CPU: AMD Athlon x3 440 3.0 GHz $86.99
GPU and RAM: HSI Radeon 5770 1GB and OCZ AMD Black Edition 4GB DDR3 $282.92
HDD: SEAGATE Barracuda 7200rpm 500gb $59.99
CASE and PSU: Antec Three Hundred Illusion and Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W 12V $147.46
OPT DR: Sony Optiarc AD-7240S-0B $24.99
MONITOR: ASUS VW193TR 19in LCD $123.99