Sign in with
Your question

Musicians recording PC.

Last response: in Systems
March 5, 2010 12:51:30 AM

I am not going to add much but i have to know a reasonable price for a I can record music on possibly between 400 and a thousand, or as cheap as can be. I've noticed on my current PC it makes the screen shake or pixelize while I am plugged up. Any else who plays knows this burden. Its really getting at me becauseI don't wanna blow my audio or mess us my video card.

More about : musicians recording

March 5, 2010 1:08:55 AM

What kind of musician are you? Do you play guitar. You want to know how to record guitar through a PC? You want to build your PC?
March 5, 2010 1:15:01 AM

lauxenburg said:
What kind of musician are you? Do you play guitar. You want to know how to record guitar through a PC? You want to build your PC?

I am a guitarist, but also play drums, bass and violin I record Blues, metal and acoustic. I would prefer to build but any other info is helpful as well.
Related resources
March 5, 2010 1:33:25 AM

Well, for recording high quality music at a professional level requires 1.) the right software, 2.) the right sound card and 3.) the right hard drive so that the hard drive can keep up with writing the data to the hard drive, 4.) a quality pair of headphones or speakers/ amp to play back on.

Suggestions:

Use whatever software you are comfortable with.

For the sound card, I'd recommend an ASUS Xonar Essence ST card which runs at about $200 or a an ASUS Xonar D2 $180

Hard Drive wise you want something quick. It doesn't have to be a solid state drive because you will run out of space fast on those and the $ per GB is absolutely insane. Stick with mechanical drives. The top of the line desktop drive is the Western Digital Velociraptor 10,000RPMs drive. It spins quickly meaning it can write your information faster. However, it only comes in two varieties 150GB and 300GB. The 300GB model is $200 and the 150GB model is $150.