AMD FX-4100 gets slower as i oc more

LukeP123

Honorable
Dec 29, 2012
Hey guys as i overclock my processor, i got a blue screen because there was not enough voltage. so i bumped the voltage to1.4250 from 1.4125 and when i apply it my clock settings speed down to 3.3 ghz instead of 4.5 ghz. I know i posted another thread on this, but i thought if i gave it a better title it would get more views and maybe someone would know the answer. My temps are normal and are staying under 50 degrees Celsius on 4.4 ghz, i have a coolermaster vortex plus, i would have gotten a bigger cooler but i did not have enough space in my case. I know its not my temperature, but it seems kind of strange that the more voltage i put in, the slower by cpu becomes. if this has happened to you and you have a solution or you know what may be the problem, it would be appreciated.

Solution
Sorry, Tom's Hardware isn't notifying me any more of new posts (So may topics I replied to as well).

Acer boards are pretty well know for the Throttling issues with high volts, But I can''t say for sure if that would be a problem for your CPU tho, FX-4100 is only a 95watt TDP and its throttling when its around 100watt TDP, I would try a bios update and see where that goes, ASRock has problem with the 8120/50 on some of their boards, as well as Gigabyte. If it still does it, I wouldn't OC it much, OC it as far as it goes without adding volts and see what it does. But other then that, I do agree with noob2222.

LukeP123

Honorable
Dec 29, 2012

ok i will try that, i have already disabled turbo and cool n quiet, but i will try disabling c1e and spread spectrum

LukeP123

Honorable
Dec 29, 2012

in my bios i dont see C1E support and spread spectrum, only AMD EVP AND AMD-V where do i find C1E and spread spectrum

LukeP123

Honorable
Dec 29, 2012

chipset- 880G
Southbridge- AMD SD850
LPCOI- FINTEK F71869A

PC - ACER ASPIRE M3450

In cpuz i got this from the motherboard section, but i dont know which one is the mono