Sign in with
Your question

Help for noob =P i5 3570K Z77 Extreme4

Last response: in Overclocking
December 30, 2012 8:13:12 PM

So, as the title suggests, I'm a noob and I need help overclocking haha. I really don't know much about what to do, while I do know my way around the BIOS for the most part. My goal is 4.0Ghz, but I'm going to start small and work my way up. Also, I have 1866 RAM that I want to OC to at least 2,000. And a GTX 660 that I may OC. I'll ask about those in their respective categories, but it's safe to, lightly, overclock all 3 at once right?

Parts list:
-ASRock Z77 Extreme4
-i5 3570K
-G.Skills Sniper Series DDR3-1866 RAM
-EVGA GTX 660 SuperClocked
-Thermaltake Frio Advanced CPU Cooler (I caught a deal on it, I know that normally it isn't a good deal)
-SeaSonic X750 Gold PSU
-Rosewill Thor V2 Case
-NZXT Sentry 2 (Fan controller and Temp. reader, so I don't have to mess with software =P)

I feel like I'm forgetting something (always feel like that) so if I did, just let me know.

Thanks in advance =)
a b à CPUs
December 30, 2012 8:30:15 PM

There are tons of guiedes around the web and alos here at Toms.

4.0Ghz is pretty much a kids play for most I5, and even with stock cooler most people can get 4.0ghz without much more than just bump the multiplier and have a bunch of fans near the socket.

Also, 4.0ghz can be reached by Software, thought its not recomended for stability you can play with ASRock eXtreme Tunner (should come in yours MOBO's driver CD) bumping the Multiplier to 40. For starting its pretty much the best think you can do without messing with BIOS or other stuff.

For going more deeper I recomend you read very well and understad this guiede

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/274821-29-sandy-bridg...

For GPU overclocking, it will be done with software, your card should come with a CD with the EVGA Precision tool, which is great for monitoring and overclocking you GPU.