Overclocking MSI 7950 twin frozr

shADy81

Distinguished
Nov 27, 2012
Hi, I'm totally new to overclocking and would like some extra advice on my card which seems to give me some strange results. Im using MSI Afterburner and Kombuster, the card is factory o/c to 880 MHZ I began moving the card up in 20 MHZ bumps testing in Kombuster for 10-15 mins and recording the temps FPS etc. I currently have it at a 1000 clock with no artifacts or problems.

When I've Googled people overclocking these cards their load temps seem to be much lower then mine at much higher clocks? Im getting 79 c at 1000 MHZ after 15 mins of Kombustor thats without modifying the fan settings on the card which are running at 75%(any faster and it sounds like a hydrofoil), I read somewhere about a bad batch of these cards but those people were saying that their card idles at 50c andf load at 80+, mines idles at 34c which is apparently about right.

I recently bought a Silverstone 14cm air penetrator fan and put it on the side of the case blowing directly onto the card, because I was getting a bit worried about the temps getting over 70c in my earlier o/c attempts. This doesnt seem to have had the benefit I was expecting!

I have a Xigmatek Midgard 2 case, could it be that my case is just poor for ventilation? I have 1 12cm silverstone and 1 Gelid silent 12 on the front, the 14cm Silverstone on the side and 2 Xigmatek performance fans exhausting at the back and on the top just behind the cpu cooler.

Playing Batman Arkham City with everything on apart from tesselation the temps are around 65c which I'm happy with I just dont understand why other people online seem to get Kombustor results 10c cooler then mine, have I got a bad card?

Thanks for reading!

Slow Trot

Honorable
Oct 20, 2012