Overclocking Wall Hit with Phenom II x4 965 BE

Dapake

Honorable
Apr 2, 2012
Hello,

I have recently kinda hit a wall with my processor's clock speed. Right now it is at 3.9 GHz without me changing the Vcore voltage. I wish to at least push it to 4 GHz then I'll be happy. However, when I increase the multiplier, the Prime95 test is failed.

So, I tried increasing the voltage on the CPU (the voltage was already high with stock settings so increasing it made it go past 1.5 V).

Doing this made it last awhile in Prime95 testing but it eventually failed. Also my temps were pretty warm (almost 60 C)

So since the voltage is already high I was wondering what else I could do to push the CPU to 4 GHz? I have done a little research and it sounds like I might have to tweak the memory and northbridge freqs but I am not super sure about it.

Any help would be appreciated!

Btw this is my first time overclocking I feel pretty good about it so far.

Since you are using a BE cpu with any unlocked multi, you are not stressing the memory controller or anything else.

When you used to increase bus speeds, you would stress other parts of the system.

Chances are this is just what your chip can do, All are different.

You can try to drop the memory frequency, but I am not sure it will help any.

Dapake

Honorable
Apr 2, 2012
Thing is I have seen people OC it to 4 GHz and i just want that extra 100 MHz then I'll be happy haha but if not then Ill just be happy with what I got. Im pretty impressed with it so far to be honest

mlcaouette

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2011
Well make sure you have a manually controlled fan curve set up so your cpu fan cranks up to 100% at around 52C.

Are cool n quiet, C1E, as well as spread spectrum disabled? And be sure windows power management is set to performance mode with min/max cpu settings at 100% and system cooling policy is set to active.