Sign in with
Your question

FX 6300 oc questions

Last response: in Overclocking
January 3, 2013 4:10:51 AM

This is my first time overclocking, and I'm currently at 4.5ghz @ 1.36 ~ 1.376v @ 47C (Is this good? worried about voltage bouncing). I've noticed my NB temps are getting a bit high (54-58C) when running prime95.

I've turned off cool and quiet, turbo, and APM. Will I be able to turn on Cool and quiet and the APM once I get a stable clock, or will I have to sacrifice the speed and stability to have those features?

With my mobo, would it be better to just get a small fan and point it onto NB heatsink, or get a new NB heatsink altogether?

I'm also thinking of getting some fans to blow onto VRM's also.

Also, when should I start to worry about voltage being too high? I dont think I'll keep a daily oc of anything over 4.5ghz or is this already too high?

Srry for all the questions, and thanks for any help!

More about : 6300 questions

January 3, 2013 7:40:54 AM

unstable voltage is very unsafe, as it means some of the mosfets are gettting overloaded. try to have it stable to around 0.01, and it should be safe.
if you are overclocking the rams aswell, then you should have the northbridge cooled seperately because it gets very hot, unless u have a very good mobo (this comes with personaly experience so i cannot tell you) just touch the heatsink, if u can hold ur hand on it, even for a lil bit, while it has been under load for 20-30 mins then its ok.
no you should not be turning any of those on again. im not certain about the ceileing, but what i can tell you is that your voltage instability is not a good thing at all for the processor die.temp is ok at 47 but you need to know the temp under load. run prime95 for a bit to test for stability.
m
l
January 3, 2013 1:09:21 PM

I cant get my voltages to stop fluctuating by +- .015. I haven't pushed the chip past 4.5ghz or voltage past 1.375 since posting last, just going for stable OC at current specs.