Sign in with
Your question

Upgrading a computer...or to buy?

Last response: in Motherboards
October 30, 2010 4:17:48 AM

Hey,

I am given the option of buying PC off of a friend of mine. I am looking to play Star Trek online with the computer since a bunch of my friends are playing it. I'm going to post the min and rec. specs for the game after I list what I can find. I'm not exactly the most computer literate when it comes to actually building and upgrading so, I could really use the help. Would it be worth it, how much do you think the estimated cost is? I'm not opposed to buying used whatsoever.

If there's anything else you need to know, just let me know please. I'll be checking the site a bunch to see if there are any replies. And while I'm new to doing anything dealing witht he actual components of PCs, I'll do what I can.
Thanks.

CPU Type Intel Pentium 4 640, 3200 MHz (16 x 200).
GeForce FX 5500 video card.
1 gig of RAM
The motherboard is...I'm not real sure what you'd need for this, so I'll post a few.
Motherboard Name ECS 945P-A
RAM Slots 4 DDR2 DIMM
CPU Sockets/Slots 1 LGA775
Motherboard Chipset i945P

And now for the specs needed

The minimum system requirements are:

* OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
* CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8 Ghz or AMD Athlon X2 3800+
* Memory: 1GB RAM
* Video: NVIDIA GeForce 7950 / ATI Radeon X1800 / Intel HD Graphics
* Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
* DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
* HDD: 10GB Free Disk Space
* Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
* Disc: 6X DVD-ROM

The recommended system specifications are:

* OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
* CPU: Intel E8400 Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon X2 5600+
* Memory: 2GB RAM+
* Video: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 / ATI Radeon HD 3850+
* Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
* DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
* HDD: 10GB Free Disk Space
* Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
* Disc: 6X DVD-ROM