H50 Cooler + HAF 922 Case

makwy2

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2009
Hello friends!

I have a problem I hope is not unique. I am looking to put a quiet and easily installed cpu cooler in my system for both heat and sound reduction. From my research it sounds like the Corsair H50 does the job very well. So I now have two questions:

1. I have a Cooler Master HAF 922 case, what is the best configuration to install the cooler? Should the radiator be mounted to the back as an exhaust, the bottom as an intake, or the side or top as an intake/exhaust? If you have this setup please share your experience (and a picture if you have it) !

2. I haven't bought the H50 yet but I did find a good deal ($55) and I'm ready to buy, is there another **quiet** and effective AM2+/AM3 CPU cooler that give me more (silent) bang for my buck under 70 dollars? (Have I mentioned I wanted it to be quiet...) Suggestions are welcome!

My computer details are listed in my signature! I'm willing to provide further details if it would help you answer and/or suggest solutions.

***EDIT ADDITION***

I am not interested in overclocking my system. I don't mind overclocking it for a couple hours while my machine runs regressions on my research data but otherwise it just sits at stock speed AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE 3.2Ghz)

THE CASE

Also, the case link for newegg is here Cooler Master HAF 922. The unit has one (non-removable) 200mm intake on the front, one 200mm top exhaust fan, and one 120mm exhaust on the back. In addition there are mounts on the side of the case for one 120mm or two 80mm fans as well as a mount on the bottom of the case for either a 120mm or 80mm fan.

THE COOLER

The Corsair H50 is an all-in-one water cooler with a 120mm fan with radiator.

Solution