Looking for advice from those willing to give it...

Warped_One

Honorable
Mar 25, 2012
First off I'd like to say thank you for taking the time to read my post. I found this website about a week ago as it was linked in a game forum I was reading. The forum post was on Ramdisks, SSDs, and speeding up game performance which was a little over my head. So that brings me here to ask ya'll for some advice.

I'm an avid gamer and my computer is used almost exclusively for this purpose. I recently started playing SW:TOR and noticed that the load times are extreme, upwards of 3-5 minutes sometimes. Most of this is poor optimization of the game, I'm sure, but I cant help but think that I could do some upgrading. I have an older Dell XPS running Win7 with 2 GTX450s in SLI which handles almost all my graphical needs just fine. As I said, the computer is older but I have not had a problem playing any of the newer games until now. I understand that SSDs will not help improve graphics and that's fine, Im ok in that regard. My problem lies in load times and over all sluggishness I cant help but feeling when I play SW:TOR and other games.

So, my questions are these; Will purchasing a moderate sized SSD in the $150-$250 range improve my game and application load times? Also, what is the best way to use these SSDs? Load Windows and the games on them, or just load my games on there? I really dont have a problem with windows, I couldn't care less about the 30 seconds to a minute it takes to load on boot up but if loading Win7 on an SSD gives an overall performance boost then Im in.

I'm an above average computer user and have been able to solve every problem that has come my way thus far. Although I cant help but feel a little out of my league on this topic. Im open to any and all advice you are willing to give as Im looking to improve my knowledge on the subject and not just have someone do it for me.