Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Question on radiator placement

Last response: in Overclocking
January 4, 2013 9:35:15 AM

Hello, this is my first time positing but i've been here several times getting tips and such for building a PC. I did some research on the best configuration for an H100i interloop CPU water cooler, and I was wondering if I could setup the configuration to have the fans take the air out of the case through the top of the case. I would be getting the nzxt 820 and adding the additional 200mm fan to the top, so my question is: can I have the Radiator then the fans attached to the top in this order.... fan attached to top of case underneath two 200mm fans and the radiator is attached to the bottom of the fans to have them in a pull conifig. Any input on this idea? would that work? if you need some clarification please let me know.
a b K Overclocking
January 4, 2013 12:07:54 PM

That's ok, I recommend getting a Noctua NH-D14 because closed loop water coolers aren't that great. If you can't afford a water cooling kit don't get a closed loop.
m
l
a c 324 K Overclocking
January 4, 2013 5:08:54 PM

They are alright, it's just a price/performance question. It isn't that they are bad, it's just that there are other solutions that perform better for marginally more money. From everything I've read, the H100i is a decent update from the older H100, but it's not a significant performance difference.

Is there a reason you are wanting to use the H100i instead of an air cooler? Why the H100i and not an entry level watercooling kit?

Have you read through the watercooling sticky?

Quote:
That's ok, I recommend getting a Noctua NH-D14 because closed loop water coolers aren't that great. If you can't afford a water cooling kit don't get a closed loop.