Over the Top

LegionPothIX

Distinguished
Oct 31, 2010
Hi! I'm new to these forums, been doing lots of research for my one every 5 year upgrades.

I've been using the same pc since 2004, decided it was time to get a new one, since I began boning up on my Hardware knowledge (I'm a software guy) every Google link for every question keeps bringing me back here.

Because of how infrequently I upgrade or replace components, I'm looking for things I can't confirm exist yet. I was wondering if anyone knows of a Dual CPU (two individual processors) slot mother board , supporting 4-6 core processors preferably dual-band, and supports dual channel DDR3 RAM with at around 32gigs. Lastly I'd like it to have 2 or more Graphics cards slots preferably for parallel processing (if thats the right term).

I understand that these I'm not rich but to me this is a long term project with no financial limitations, seeing as the motherboard is the foundation of a PC, I was kind of hoping one of these exist, even if it is intended for servers.

I understand that there is little on this earth that could currently require such performance, I am into some serious 3d graphics programs, and want hardware extended viability for another 4-6 years. I am not looking to substitute other single processor, or single graphics card solutions. I don't read unicode, and would not like to be requiring Linux. I need windows compatible hardware.

Any information on the matter would be appreciated.

Look for a dual xeon 1156 board at newegg if you don't plan on overclocking. One graphic card should be adequate. Lots of problems with two or three graphics cards due to heat and driver issues. Amd makes an eight core cpu for around $800, but the boards are also extremely expensive. Not worth it for the average user.

damasvara

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2010
Dual PSU slot? Or did you mean dual CPU? If you do mean a dual PSU, why would you need one?