Sign in with
Your question

Higher CPU temp after replacing HSF with Hyper 212+

Last response: in CPUs
May 16, 2010 4:55:38 AM

With the stock Intel Core i7 HSF I get an idle temperature of 55 degree celcius, but on my newly installed Cooler Master Hyper 212+ I get higher temps, about 61 degree celcius at idle.

Do you think there is something wrong with the installation of the Heatsink?

This is my first time to replace a heatsink, I used the Thermal Paste that came with Hyper 212+ because there is no thermal paste available in the store where I bought the Hyper 212+. I used my finger with a plastic in spreading the thermal paste on the base of the CPU and on the heatsink because I was having a hard time using a plastic card in spreading the paste, but I'm not sure if I applied it correctly and then I just secured the heatsink into the CPU base with the screws and put the computer back together to see if I installed it correctly and to see if there was any temperature drop from the stock Intel HSF. But to my surprise the CPU temperature went higher instead of going lower.
May 16, 2010 5:08:06 AM

Did you perhaps put too much thermal paste on and have you double checked that the fan is spinning. Too much paste is just as bad as not enough in fact its usually worse. Only about half the size of a pea is what you want before spreading it.
May 16, 2010 5:15:07 AM

Not being a wiseguy, but you did remove the plastic protector film off the bottom? My i5 with that cooler idles around 30c. Because of the spaces between the tubes, many "butter" the bottom to fill the spaces, then remove the excess, and then very thin line on each pipe. VERY thin, you just want an almost see through film on top. A Guy

Related resources
May 16, 2010 7:51:23 AM

I removed the plastic cover on the heatsink.