3rd Master Hard Disk Error

apress155

Distinguished
Nov 25, 2011
Hello boys and girls!

My name is Alex, I am a first time poster here. Although this is my first time contributing to the community I have used tom's hardware for various crafts and maintenance.

I am in a predicament.

About 6 months ago my rig (Desktop Computer) began presenting me with 3rd master hard disk errors. I was able to bypass them and restart/reboot my rig enough to where, miraculously, id be able to get windows to boot and everything was stable. My computer wasn't crashing, lagging or slow, etc.

Specs:
M4N68Tv-2 Asus Mobo
620 watt HCG (High current gamer) PSU
HD 6950 (Flashed to a 6970)
amd phenom 965 x4 @ 3.20 Ghz
Western Digital HDD (Came stock with my old HP that i upgraded to what you see here)

A few months ago, we lost power and my rig shut down. I had to restart it multiple times before it would boot to windows and I finally got into the OS. I ran Lifeguard, and about 2-3 other HDD scans and they ALL returned with no errors. My HDD was healthy as a horse...

So, last night, big storm, lost power, RATS! My rig wont boot now. Ive tried everything i feel like. Theres a couple of goofy things going on though... Like, i cannot get into the BIOS while hdd is plugged into the mobo. Once i disconnect the sata cable running from my HD to my MoBo i can get into the bios and tweak the boot priority, etc. But i cannot, for the LIFE of me get into the BIOS while my HD is connected. It is very odd and terribly annoyng.