How to make a bootable Windows 7 hard drive that is a copy of my (C:)

achonez

Honorable
Mar 20, 2012
I have asked this question before, but I was still left confused.

I am somewhat computer knowledgeable. I am not new to the computer world I know how to write in C# somewhat and C++.

I am a college Student that has a failing desktop hard drive. Its an IDE 120 WD Hard drive that I would say is almost 8 years old. I have had this hard drive since I was 11. (I am 19 now).

The drive does boot but its says that it fails the S.M.A.R.T. test and to replace it.

It has also started making Windows 7 very sluggish

I know its the hard drive since its the only thing that is not up to date

Specs:
AMD X6 1075
Asus M4A87TD/USB3
8 GB DDR 3 1600
120 GB IDE
500 GB SATA
550 ti 2GB
Corsair Gaming Series 700 Watt PSU

I have gotten a new 500 GB SATA drive that i want to make my new primary hard drive.

I do not have the Windows 7 Disk.

I think a good program would be Macrium Reflect (I think that the name). Just when I see the program it looks very confusing and I feel kinda of intimidated because I do not want to cause anything to mess up.

I just want to make my new hard drive act like my IDE drive. So when it asks what drive I want to boot from I would choose that one and it would boot up normal like my other drive. With all the drivers, programs, games and such.

If somebody could help me step by step instead of just telling me what program to use would be helpfull.

Thank you for your infinite knowledge to computers guys

tokencode

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2010
You'll need an imaging software program, if it's a 1 time shot, R-Disk Image from r-tt.com I believe has a 15 day trial and it works well. I'm sure there are some free imaging programs out there as well. This will maintain the boot sector etc so the drive is bootable.