Building Gaming/Entertainment System rig

Hey guys,

I'm looking to build a system that will allow me to game online with decent framerates (30fps+) at medium-high settings, no over the top games, just COD4-MW2, AvP and maybe a RPG or MMORPG like Dragon Age or WoW.

What I also want to do is make a Movies + TV system out of it so I can do everything (no pun intented) in my bedroom, I'm actually considering in buying a mini fridge so I never have to leave it, oh and a microwave for hot pockets, LOL.

I'm not very experienced in building rigs, I've tried to put together a few components and wanted your opinion, I plan on overclocking the processor but there's a couple of things I'm stuck on.

I don't know what RAM to get? Most 1600 ram I look up says it's suitable for i5/i7 but with AMD boards I will have to tweak settings on bios, which I'm not very comfortable with?

Any better screen then the Asus? I didn't really (can't afford more then $300) and I like the 1900x1200 resolution

Is that motherboard + processor combo easy for overclocking?

Do you think that case would be good enough to make the system not so noisy? I have an Antec 900 atm and because it has so much Mesh material in it, it sounds like a jet turbine and I really wanted to build a silent PC this time

Please recommend the cheapest decent pair of speakers possible as I can't really afford to buy a good set up atm but I do plan on getting a 5.1 set if my bedroom hermit plan goes through.

So yeah apart from that I just need the RAM and that would be $1200 which I think it's pretty good considering the monitor is so expensive, if anyone has any suggestions to change anything I'd really apreciate it. I'm just going to buy a cheap mouse and keyboard.

Thanks a lot,
1 answer Last reply
More about building gaming entertainment system