Sign in with
Your question

Replacing fans in TT Armor. Please help.

Last response: in Overclocking
January 8, 2013 1:49:33 PM

Hi all,

Apologies for the length of this post, but I wanted to make sure I get everything down on paper.

I've been using my TT Armor case now for about 4 years, and unfortunately some of the fans have started rattling, while others are getting louder and louder... I've therefore decided to replace all the fans, however I have very little fan knowledge, and since I'm building quite a powerful computer this time around, I want to do my best to achieve good cooling performance.

My problem is that despite 10+ years of assembling and repairing computers, I have basically NO experience when it comes to fans.

I've read through several guides to try and educate myself on the topic, but I still have quite a few questions that I simply cannot find decent and/or consistent answers to.

What needs to be cooled? Well, my build is going to look like this:
Thermaltake Armor VA800BWS
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Intel i5-3750
4x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws
2x Gigabyte GTX680 4GB SLi
X-Fi Fata1ty Pro w/ Front bay
2x Samsung 830 SSD in RAID0
2x Seagate 2TB (not SSD)

I will use two frontal hard drive cages (TT iCage), which each come equipped with a 120mm Blue LED intake fan (TT 1225). The bottom cage will hold the SSD's (one in the top slot, one in the bottom slot, middle slot free for airflow), while the cage above will hold the non-SSDs (one in the top slot, one in the bottom slot).
Both these fans will need replacing, and I would like them both to be blue LED, like the standard Thermaltakes.
There's another 120mm fan (same as the iCage fans) at the rear, under the PSU, for exhaust. Here I would prefer blue LED, but it's not a dealbreaker.

As well as this, there are two more exhaust fans, both 92mm (TT-9025a), both plain without LED.

Not to mention the gigantic 250mm fan in the side window!