Sign in with
Your question

GTX 670 SLI + i5 3570k OC questions!

Last response: in Overclocking
January 8, 2013 2:40:38 PM

So, I recently added another GTX 670 SC 4gb to my rig, and I'm enjoying it for the most part so far. This is my first time running SLI, so I'm still not sure of everything. I'm running at 1080p currently until I receive my other monitors.

Heres my setup:
Asrock Extreme4 Motherboard
16GB Corsair Vengeance RAM
Corsair HX750W PSU
(x2) GTX 670 SC 4gb (Stock Clocks)
i5 3570k @4.4ghz

My question is, I notice a few hiccups in most of my games, specifically Battlefield 3. I'll be running well over 60 frames, but will notice spikes every 10 or 15 seconds on the PerfOverlay (Ultra,multiplayer,2xAA), on the yellow cpu line. Is that a result of my OC, or something else? My OC is on auto voltage, and has never crashed after hours of Prime95, and the vcore stays at 1.2159. When going back to stock clocks, in a certain area of the single player I used for comparison, I went from 149fps (@4.4), to 119fps (@3.4/8), so my OC helped me there.

Another instance of strange performance I noticed, in the game Sleeping Dogs. With maxed out settings, normal AA, my GPU usage on both cards sit below 50% almost always. When looking at less demanding areas, the usage shoots up (80-90%), like in menus, side of buildings, etc. Is that the game, or my rig causing this?

Also, other than the fps tests, I play with Vsync on, due to tearing.

Is there anything I'm missing? I know the term "bottleneck" is thrown around a lot, but I'm pretty sure my processor should handle these cards.

Thanks for any help, just trying to understand my new setup and how everything works together!
a b K Overclocking
January 10, 2013 4:47:06 AM

I have some ideas for you. I don't run SLI cards - I'm a single card kinda fellow. That said: