Sign in with
Your question
Solved

So...what do I need to do?

Last response: in Systems
March 10, 2010 12:53:23 AM

I will be building this rig this weekend. This is my first build, so I have no idea what I need to do after I build it. Setting up the bios, flashing the SSD firmware before installing OS, getting what drivers...what do I do? Which drivers do I need? And I heard something about avoiding the newest nVidia driver and getting Intel drivers over Microsoft drivers. Confusing! :fou: 

CPU
i7 920 D0

Motherboard
EVGA x58 SLI LE

Memory
XMS3 6gb 1600

Graphics Card
BFG gtx 260 Maxcore

Hard Drive
Intel X25-M 80gb Boot Drive, Spinpoint F3 1TB

Sound Card
Onboard

OS
Windows 7 Home 64

More about : question

March 10, 2010 1:45:25 AM

For most cases it is easy.
1. install windows
2. install graphics drivers(optional)
3. install games
4. play games

The killer driver has been taken down so there is no need to worry.
Usually, Windows 7 will automatically do these things, so there is no need to take any action.

Installing other drivers manually just gives extra features that are not really necessary.
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
March 10, 2010 1:48:57 AM

Read my Step-by-Step guide in my sig to help with how to put together (if needed).
  • Flash the firmware first on the Intel X25-M G2 first before installing the OS.
  • After flashing, set your SATA drive to ACHI in the BIOS instead of IDE. This helps with the support the Windows 7 TRIM and other features of a SSD.
  • Install Windows 7 OS
  • Install the Audio drivers from the EVGA website (download onto a flash drive a head of time)
  • Install the Intel RAID drivers from the EVGA website, if might setup a RAID (download onto a flash drive a head of time)
    Note: I didn't install any other board drivers at this point. I let Windows assign the drivers.
  • Install the GPU drivers. I would stay away from the latest Nvidia drivers. I'm running 196.21 with no issues.