Sign in with
Your question

Amd athlon II x4 640

Last response: in Overclocking
January 9, 2013 6:52:17 PM

Hello all, i am a newbie to this overclocking business as i'm sure you've all heard so many time. But i would like some help and advice on to how exactly to overclock and what is a suitable amount to overclock to for my rig, i dont want to risk any problems but i am thinking of buying the 'Sapphire HD 7870 2gb ghz edition' graphics card as im currently running on an intergrated one and it simply isnt good enough. So i was wondering what i would need to overclock to to be able to get decent results from this graphics card or whether i'd be able to access it potential anyway without OC'ing.

Mobo: ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3
CPU: Amd athlon II x4 640 3ghz
Grapics card: (Intergrated) ATI radeon 3000
Cooling: ASUS Silent Knight II
Memory: 4GB kit (2GBx2), 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-8500
Need more info?

Picture of my CPU setting in BIOS, what do i need to edit to be able to overclock and what else do i need to do in my BIOS to allow me to OC?

Any help appreciated, thanks :) 

More about : amd athlon 640

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
a b U Graphics card
January 9, 2013 7:15:35 PM

None of those options will be of any use to you. Since you have an Athlon and thus a locked multiplier you will only be able to change the FSB (front side bus) which will raise your memory speeds.

I am not sure what the setting would be called but I believe it would be under "jumper free configuration".
January 9, 2013 7:24:19 PM

Thanks for the quick reply :) 

How would i go about changing the FBS and how far would you reccomend i go without the chance of breaking anything, and do i need to change the voltage things?
Related resources
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
a b U Graphics card
January 9, 2013 7:41:27 PM