Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Cool'n'Quiet stopped working on my 1090T after massive OC

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
May 18, 2010 6:02:01 PM

Need some advice from someone with experience on this, as I have never encountered this issue before

I'm running Windows 7, power management is on "balanced"
Cool'n'Quiet was working until today, after I ran few hours of Memtest86+ on my machine, I boot back into Windows, and notice that all my cores are stuck at their highest clock setting - 4.25ghz, I know that this doesnt sound like such a bad idea, but my machine is on 24/7, and I'd like Cool'n'Quiet to kick in when its on idle. Just few hours before this CnQ was working perfectly, where it would throttle down to 800mhz when its idle. I did not change any of the BIOS setting that would have an effect on this, (CnQ and C1E is enabled in BIOS), then I started playing around with my OC, I notice that if I bring my OC down to around 3.8ghz, CnQ kicks in again

so my real question is, could this possibly be related to my OC? does CnQ turn itself off automatically once you OC past 4.0Ghz mark for stability reasons? or did i damage the motherboard or CPU by over-volting (which I managed to reach @ 1.64v), or is this just a windows 7 issue, in which the windows changed its settings without my knowing and allowed it self to prevent CnQ after a certain OC? (due to the fact that i crashed often while in windows from attempting OC to a higher clock rate)

if anyone can shed some light on this, would be much appreciate!
a b à CPUs
May 18, 2010 6:07:05 PM

arterius2 said:
Need some advice from someone with experience on this, as I have never encountered this issue before

I'm running Windows 7, power management is on "balanced"