Sign in with
Your question

Coolermaster HAF 932 & Scythe Mugen 2

Last response: in Components
May 19, 2010 11:25:27 AM

i recently bought a Scythe Mugen 2 Rev. B CPU-cooler for my first attempts at overclocking. i've been using an Enermax Phoenix Neo midi-tower for almost 2 years now, but unfortunately, the thick 25cm sidefan in combination with a large CPU heatsink such as the Mugen means the case can no longer be closed. the case would barely fit the Mugen without the sidefan.

in my quest to find a suitable replacement case i stumbled across the Coolermaster HAF 932. not only does it have excellent cooling capabilities it's also larger than my current midi-tower which allows for easier parts installation and cable management. it would be the case of my choice right now.

however, i still don't know if the case would be compatible with the Mugen 2 Rev. B considering that the HAF 932 also has a 23cm sidefan.

does anybody have any experience with this particular combination?
May 20, 2010 8:20:12 AM

Quote:
Welcome to the Forum! :) 

Yes.

First, I believe that you have a haf 932-which is 22cm's.
Second, You need a better cooler,( one that fits I mean.)
Third: this is what I reccomend:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Also, find your fans for push/pull. If there is anything else, just post.

thanks for replying. :) 

perhaps my wording was a bit inaccurate: i do not yet have the HAF 932. i'm still using an Enermax Phoenix Neo, a medium sized tower with a bulky sidefan. the 932 is the full tower i'm eyeing as a replacement/upgrade for my Enermax case.

buying a different, smaller CPU cooler would no doubt be cheaper, but since i've only just bought the Mugen 2 that's not an option. IMO, if the case cannot accommodate a widely used part like the Mugen, it's time to replace it. besides, the Phoenix Neo has practically no options in terms of airflow and cooling, whereas the 932 has plenty.