New system fails to boot, Shuts off after fraction of a second

listenmylove

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2010
THE PROBLEM
System was shutting down instantly after pressing power button. Now, when PSU is plugged in, and PSU switch is turned on, system starts up for half-sec, shuts down, starts up, shuts down, in a cycle, indefinitely(for as long as I've let it do that, which is 1 minute).

Details
After saving for some time, I finally got the money to buy a computer. After some disappoints from retail systems, and subsequent returns, I decided to build my own. This is my first time doing this. I researched for a week and ordered the parts from Newegg.

A friend and I assembled all these parts in the case before testing them. Again, it was my first time building a system, so I was careful to follow instructions for the connection of each part.

Here is a message I sent to a friend, telling him what was happening:

B E G I N M E S S A G E
We assembled the computer, following online instructions and those in the manuals. I didn't do most of the power cable and wire connecting. Friend did those, so I'm wondering if one isn't hooked up right.

We closed it up, plugged in monitor and power cable, fired it up.

After a few seconds, it went to a startup screen. It said F2 for setup, and two other options below that. I didn't press anything in time because I didn't have my keyboard plugged in. That screen only stayed up for a few seconds. Then it went black for a few seconds. Then it went to a black screen with the words: (something like this) no boot *device?drive?disk?something* found. Please reboot and insert boot disk. Then it automatically shut down.