Help with my new build please

CrysisComa

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2010
ok as far as i know i put everything together correctly. then because the motherboard has no onboard video i put my nVIDIA 9400gt in it. but for some reason when i power the computer on everything turns on but the computer isnt recognizing the monitor. the monitor just stays the way it is. and i cant get it to show anything. please help, this is my first build

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130265&cm_re=msi_motherboard-_-13-130-265-_-Product

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130390&cm_re=evga_9400_gt-_-14-130-390-_-Product

just tell me if you need to see the rest of the parts

Solution
Have you go into your BIOS with your new or old CPU, so you can install Win7?? When you get it to boot from the CD\DVD, it will allow you to format your drive to clean your old system off.

CrysisComa

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2010

ok i checked this and to the best of my knowledge i did everything correctly. the only thing i can possibly think of is the Power LED that goes from the case to the Mobo has 3 holes, while the motherboard only supplies 2 of those gold pin things sticking out for that LED.

also does anyone know what a connector from the case thats called AC'97? because its attached to the audio connector, but im not sure if its suppose to plug in anywhere

is it possible because this board is Ati/Amd it doesnt support a Nvidia card? or because the Pci-e x16 slot is facing a certain way i had to install the card upside down? its still in the slot correctly but could it being upside down have something to do with it?

CrysisComa

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2010

tecmo34

Administrator
Yes... if you BIOS don't support the CPU, the system may not boot at all (some manufacturers setup it so that it'll boot as an unsupported CPU and down clock it).