Sign in with
Your question

Build a great gaming pc under $1200 today march-2010

Last response: in Systems
March 11, 2010 2:27:36 PM

Hello

I know that all the guru's hang around here and I loved this site for years but I never signed up for some reason.
well here I am!

I want to ask the BEST GURU's if I can find help to build an efficient updated COMPATIBLE system under a budget for performance gaming.

BUDGET: $1200

THESE ARE THE PARTS TO FIT IN THE BUDGET
(it doesn't matter if it goes a little bit up)

MOTHERBOARD (DDR3, ATI CROSSFIRE, INTEL SOCKET)
CPU
CPU FAN
VIDEOCARD (ATI crossfire only, but 1 for now)
RAM (FAST BUT RELIABLE)
SOUND (FOR 5.1-7.1 AND OPTICAL)
NETWORK ? (IM NOT SURE IF I NEED THIS FOR MULTIPLAYER FPS)

I appreciate everyone's knowledge and input into this.

=============================================
MORE DETAILS BOUT MY EXPERIENCES (not really related to this thread but you can read if you want to)

I've been bulding pc for 8 years and the last 2 systems I had, had major issues.
always AMD and NVIDIA.
I noticed that ATI and INTEL are doing much better and I want to SWITCH to these brands instead, and since I'm not very sure about them I'm asking for help.

the setup I have right now includes.

ANTEC TWELVE HUNDRED CASE
OCZ 700WATTS
AMD PHENOM 9850
CORSAIR RAM
NVIDIA BFG 8800GTS OC 512MB
BIOSTAR TPOWER N750 MOTHERBOARD(BEST I'VE EVER PLAYED WITH AFTER 5 OTHER BRANDS)

anyway, thanks again for your feedback and stuff!
sorry if I missed out on some rule!
March 11, 2010 2:32:35 PM

I you have other parts you're going to use to fill out the build, we need to know what they are. I could easily suggest a GPU that doesn't fit in your case or over powers your PSU...

I'm assuming this is all you need (sound cards and network cards are not needed):

CPU: i5-750 $200
Mobo: Gigabtye GA-P55A-UD3 $135
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2 GB 1600 mhz CAS Latency 7 $115
GPU: HD 5970 $700
HSF (if OCing): Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus $29

Total: $1,179.