Your question

Overclocking a i7 3770k

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Overclocking
  • Graphics Cards
Last response: in Overclocking
January 12, 2013 8:31:16 AM

I would like to try and overclock my CPU to able to get better live stream and gaming quality. Also (I know this is not the area for this) I would also like to slightly overclock my graphics card for better performance. If any admin has an issue with me posting about a graphics card OC here then I can make a new thread under graphics card oc's. I am very new to dealing with computer hardware and also bios configurations so please do not be vague with any help you may be able to offer.

my specs:

Mother Board: Fatal1ty z77 professional

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.50GHz

GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 670

Case: CoolerMaster (not sure of exact series)

CPU Liquid Cooler: Corsair H80 high performance Liquid cpu cooler
Cooler Link: http://www.corsair.com/hydro-series-h80-high-performanc...

RAM: 16.0 GB

Power Supply: cooler master 700 Watt
Power Supply Link: http://www.coolermaster-usa.com/product.php?product_id=...

I would like to oc the i7 to around 4.50 GHz safely (because of the cooler) while OCing the GPU to around 4.0 safely. Thank you for taking the time to help me with my problem and any help would be greatly appreciated. Also any recommendations on what GHz I should set my cpu and gpu too while not sacrificing much life expectancy of the device would be much appreciated.

Sincerely,
Tim

More about : overclocking 3770k

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
a b U Graphics card
January 12, 2013 8:52:34 AM

4.5 GHZ would be pretty hard the H80 isn't a great cooler, and gets defeated by lots of normal heatsinks.

Also, it would help if you told us what brand of GTX 670 you have, or if its generic as what it seems you've listed.

Overclocking takes time, its not easy to test and every silicon performs differently to one another -- The silicon lottery as its called.
m
l
January 12, 2013 9:04:28 AM

JJ1217 said: