Solved

Best Thermal Compound?

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Cooler Master
  • Thermal Compound
Last response: in CPUs
May 20, 2010 2:42:34 PM

Everyone has recommended the CoolerMaster 212+ as the heat sink of choice on this forum and so I wanted to see if I could get an opinion on what will be the best thermal compound to use with my shiny new fan and CPU (an i5-750 or 1055T). I'm looking to finish building my PC by the end of the week, but it would be nice if I could finish buying all my parts by tomorrow. Any advice is greatly appreciated, especially since this is my first time building my own PC.

More about : thermal compound

May 20, 2010 5:21:42 PM

Well IC Diamond is getting dam good results on their giveaway here on toms. Most people are getting @ least a 2 or 3 degree drop in temps compared to whatever they were using before. I’m not sure it’s commercially available yet tho. Artic Silver 5 seems to be popular and considered good by allot of people tho I have never used it myself.

Hope this helps
m
l
May 20, 2010 5:55:46 PM

Arctic Silver 5 obviously is a crowd favorite, if you want to be different, try OCZ Freeze as its the next best thing, IC Diamond 7 is also an excellent choice <--- however there are not enough reliable reviews for this compound for me to justify recommending it freely.

on a side note, I really dont understand why there are so many CoolerMaster 212+ fanatics on this forum, I mean OK, its cheap, but its far from the best, for enthusiasts looking for the best OC, there are plenty of coolers on the market that will out perform the 212, to name a few, Noctua NH-D14, Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme (AKA. TRUE), Zalman CNPS10X Extreme, Prolimatech Megahalems, Thermaltake Frio etc... the list goes on.
m
l
Related resources
May 20, 2010 6:02:09 PM

I ordered IC Diamon from NCIX. That's the only place I found it.
m
l
May 20, 2010 6:03:23 PM