Building a new system, first time build not sure what specs I need

jquarter06

Distinguished
Dec 16, 2008
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Next month or two
BUDGET RANGE: Would like to stick under 1,000 for sure Before

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: gaming, surfing the web, folding @ home on the side perhaps

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: monitor, peripherals, optical drive and possibly HDD. I DO need an OS

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: The US of A

PARTS PREFERENCES: none really, my first build with no real brand loyalty (yet)

OVERCLOCKING: Probably a mild OC in the future, but definitely nothing crazy
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: no

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1900x1200

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I would like to use Windows 7 64 bit edition. I'm a student though so I'm not sure what the cheapest way to get into that would be.

Also, while the system specs need to be good enough to game on I'm really looking to see how much $$$ I need to spend to play the more modern games (Battlefield Bad Company 2, MW2, etc) at 1900x1200 at max settings on playable frame rates. I haven't been building systems long enough or gaming long enough to really know what kind of budget that requires.

CPU/Mobo: X4 955 and Gigabyte GA-770TA-UD3 $228 after rebate
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2 GB 1600 mhz CAS Latency 7 $115
HDD: Seagate 7200.12 500 GB $55
GPU: HD 5850 $315
Case/PSU: Antec 300 Illusion and Earthwatts 650W $130
Optical: Cheap SATA DVD burner $25
OS: Windows 7 Home 64-bit OEM. Check out Win741.com (I think). I'm not sure on the final price, but I think it's about $70

Total: $937.

You might want to kick in a little more to play everything at max settings at 1920x1080. The additional costs would be for these changes:

Case: HAF 922 $90
GPU: HD 5870 $380
PSU: Corsair 750W 80+ $100 after rebate

Total: $1,062.

jquarter06

Distinguished
Dec 16, 2008