Sign in with
Your question

Tried to overclock Intel CPU's with no luck

Last response: in Overclocking
January 13, 2013 3:26:43 PM

I tried to overclock my CPU's, but it seems like something is running correctly.

I have a intel i7 930 with a Gigabyte X58A-UD3R

Perhaps it could be a voltage issue? I followed some youtube instructions, but I also modified the ram in the past to 12GB. 8GB are Corsair, the other 4GB are off brand but they all should be the same type. It seems when I try to Overclock from the standard 2.8 to say 3.4, it'll want to adjust my ram, but it won't boot after that.

If I leave my ram set to how it is now, it'll boot extremely slowly.

(I'm very new to overclocking so I'm not sure how this works)

I just need higher CPU's to Render projects a bit faster. Was thinking about buying a 4.2GHZ Amd Quad Processor or perhaps a 6 Core, but it'll likely be too hard to install with water cooling already in place, and I've been told Intel i7's are the best...but too expensive for me to buy a new set atm with not much of an upgrade.

If anyone could run me through exactly what I'd need to look for when overclocking CPU?

I made sure everything was set correctly besides the RAM, and the Voltage which I know nothing about when overclocking, so perhaps that's the main issue.

(Currently I just set it to Turbo default, with Extreme setting on Ram, no idea what this really does, but hopefully it's okay)
January 13, 2013 4:17:41 PM

well it is triple channel, just 1 channel is not the exact brand as the other two.
Related resources
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
January 13, 2013 6:13:05 PM

yep and that tends to cause trouble i bet if you take out the one thats a different brand and do your overclock there won't be any trouble
January 13, 2013 10:35:02 PM