Memory instability problem

zachrnz

Distinguished
Feb 27, 2010
Hello,

I'm a noob at this, trying to build my first system. Some of you might remember I posted earlier looking for advice on the parts I was choosing. Anyway, after assembling my parts, the computer was unstable and would freeze. No BSoD, it would just stop accepting input with a frozen screen. It did this a couple of times during Windows 7 installation. I Thought it might be the memory, so I checked the BIOS and set the timings to match those from Newegg for my memory (7-9-7-24), but then my machine would not even boot. I also experimented with setting the voltage (1.65). I used the MemOK! button to get back to the BIOS when these changes prevented me from booting. Finally, I set the memory to run at 1066, leaving everything else set to the default "auto", and I have been stable ever since. However, I have 1600 memory, and I plan on experimenting with overclocking. Obviously, I don't want to run at 1066 forever. I really don't know where to start in troubleshooting this problem. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Here's my system:

ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
i5-750
Mushkin 4GB 1600 RAM
OCZ 600W power supply
Seagate 7200.12 500GB
Gigabyte 4870
Antec 300

yyk71200

Distinguished
Mar 10, 2010

You may have a bad ram. Try testing one stick at a time and see if your system becomes stable at the rated speed. Run on one, than switch to another.

zachrnz

Distinguished
Feb 27, 2010

Thanks, I had to call it a night before trying the stick swap, but before I went to bed I started memtest. It ran for over 7 hours and completed 5 passes without an error.

Here is the memtest output:

walltime: 7:04:45
cached: 4087M
RsvdMem: 8788K
MemMap: e820-Std
cache: on
ECC: off
test: STD
pass: 5
errors: 0
ecc errors: [blank]

I don't know much about memtest except that I have seen it recommended elsewhere to people with memory problems. Does this eliminate the bad ram possibility?

jonnyboyC

Distinguished
May 11, 2009