Sign in with
Your question

Seeking advice and help for problems overclocking i5 3570k

January 14, 2013 2:55:06 PM

Before i start i would like to let you know i have very little experience in overclocking, all that i do know i've picked up from these forums and some others. This is my first time overclocking a cpu and i'm just learning as i go, at the same time i'm trying not to screw anything up.

I recently built a computer mainly to be used for gaming. (also first time builder) got it up and going without really any problems. the MB i bought was from msi and came with a feature for overclocking called OC genie. didn't really buy it for this option but i thought i would try it before trying to alter the settings myself.

After turning it on it took me to 4.2ghz and the only change i saw from the settings after turning it on was the cpu ratio altered to 42. after stress testing for about an hour in occt. i tried to change that number without altering anything else to 44. it still booted fine and ran through 2 more st one with the medium pack and the other with the small. still no problems and my temps were something like ...

room - 25c

core temps idle - 33- 39

cpu temp idle - 35 - 39

core full load - 54 - 60

cpu tem - 56 - 60

with one core maybe hitting 61. again i didn't change any voltage settings and in my bios it still said "auto". i had read from a few places that these are good temps and optimal for a simple overclock.

everything seemed to be fine for about 2 days and then after installing skyrim and uploading it with 40+ mods while i was playing the screen turned black, then came back seconds later. after another 30 mins it did it again. i decided to reset the system and when i did instead of rebooting i got a black screen. i shut it down the started it back and it came back on. i turned off oc genie and reset the bios to default.