Closed Solved

Help with watercooling

Hey um I am new to modded water cooling. Like I know how to set up a solid unleaking loop but I have a question. The store I buy all my gear at stocks 1/4 coolers and at the moment they don't have the needed tubes. Is it possible to use 1/2 tubing and somehow connect them to the waterblock? I know it seems stuiped but I am sorta up a creek if I can't figure out a way haha

Cheers in advance :)
17 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about help watercooling
  1. I think your getting the ID of the tube and the thread of a barb confused.

G1/4 is pretty much the universal thread of water-cooling equipment, a G1/4 barb will screw into a G1/4 port, say on a radiator.
    The ID is the Inner Diameter of a tube, or the diameter of a barb. So if you have 1/2" tubing and a 1/2" barb, they will fit together.

The thread and diameter of a barb are in no way linked.

You sure you know what your doing?
  2. Haha I just noticed how that is worded. I am saying my radiator has 1/4 barbs which as far I thought used 1/4 tubing? I have an HD 220 apogee kit and want to add crossfire into the loop. However it only provides 1/2 tubes unless I am mistaking whats going on >.<.... And in question to the are you sure... at the moment.. not to much XD
  3. You sure they are 1/4" barbs? Far as I know the closest to that is 3/8".

Is this the kit?
    http://www.swiftech.com/h2o-x20-edge-hd.aspx#tab2
    According to its specs it uses 1/2" barbs.
  4. Thats a kit of what I chose :) And yes it does use 1/2 barbs. I am refering to another radiator http://koolance.com/radiator-1-fan-120mm-30-fpi-copper. I want to hook that into my rig with two mcw82 universal block's for the 78's. I am just curious is there a way I can use my 1/2 tubing on the 1/4 barbs? Look I just hope you can understand I am obviously getting mixed up with the legitimate names for these components.