Sign in with
Your question

P7P55D-E Pro: No POST, LEDs rotate

Last response: in Motherboards
November 12, 2010 7:41:22 AM

Hello all, this is my FIRST BUILD EVAR so maybe I just missed something really stupidly obvious.

Mobo: P755D-E Pro
CPU: i5-760
GPU: SLI 2 x EVGA GTX 460 768MB
PSU: Corsair TX650W
Memory: GSKILL Ripjaws 4GB (2x2)
HDD: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master 212+
Case: Cooler Master HAF 932

Okay so did my best to hook everything up but perhaps I fucked up somewhere

Here's what happens:
0. before I press the power button, the green LED at the bottom of the mobo stays lit.
1. I press the POWER button
2. Case fans start spinning just fine. I've got all 3 case fans hooked up to the PSU instead of the mobo.
3. CPU heat-sink-fan starts spinning just fine. GPU fans also spin just fine.
4. The mobo's red LEDs go in this order:
- CPU for 1 second
- Memory for 1 second
- CPU for 1 second
- Memory for 4 seconds ???
- PCIe for 1 second
- Boot device for 1 second
- All LEDs off
5. At this point, none of the mobo LEDs are on except the green one that indicates power. All the fans are still spinning at the exact same rate as they did before.
6. At no point during this entire process did anything show up on my monitor. No flickers, no POST, nothing.
7. I can leave the computer in this state indefinitely. It does not shut itself off, it does not reboot (at least, it doesn't seem like it is. there is no change in the fans or components), it does not light up any more LEDs. It just stays like it was at the end of the LED rotation.

NOTES:
1. My case has no built-in speakers so I can't hear the POST beeps. I know... that would be really helpful right?
2. I am connecting my computer to my monitor using a HDMI cable. Well, a mini-HDMI to HDMI cable, to be exact. It's the one that came with the GPU. The mini-HDMI end goes into the GPU and the HDMI end goes to the monitor.
3. The monitor is not defective; I can hook it up to my laptop and it works fine.