Kubuntu rig - can I do better?

Unas

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2010
Hey there,

I'm a masters student doing extensive simulations in C++/linux and graphing in Matlab. I also multitask profusely, but just office type stuff like browsing and I like having lots of documents open at the same time.

I am in serious need of an upgrade. My current PC is 4 years old, it has a unicore CPU and 1 GB RAM whilst I usually have 50 tabs open in Chrome and 20 figures in Matlab. I'm a serious multitasker, which means Page fault mania - My PC has operated from virtual memory for the past 2 years.

I do play the occasional game just to check it out, but most of the time I'm surfing, coding and waiting for My Computer to open. After a long bout of rehibernations it takes 28 seconds to open My Computer, so right now I'd say I'm spending the most time waiting.

I've mostly used XP all my life, but recently I worked longer in Cygwin than in the doze itself. I realized that I need to make the switch to Linux (Kubuntu) permanently.

I have decided on the following config:

Intel Core i7 860 2.8GHz LGA1156 Processor
Asus P7P55D-E P55 LGA1156 Dual-Channel DDR3 CrossFireX
2x OCZ DDR3-1600 4GB (2x2GB) Gold Low Voltage Memory Module Kit
6x Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB Desktop Hard Drive (HD502HJ) for RAID5
Corsair tx 650w PSU
Lian-li pc-7FW , midi tower , Black , Windowed side panel
Zalman CNPS9900A LED CPU Cooler
Lian-li EX-332 HDD Internal Rack Mount Kit Black
Lian Li SATA-LT90-4 SATA Data Cable - 90 Degree Angle - 4 Port,
Sleeved - 85/81/77/73cm
Coolermaster megaflow silent fan , R4-LUS-07AC-GP
Samsung SH-S223L LightScribe SATA Combo Drive
Samsung 23" Wide P2370 250cdm 50000:1 2ms LCD Monitor
Logitech M500 laser mouse
Logitech Media Keyboard 600
Existing Gigabyte GTS250 Zalman Edition from older rig