First self build PC.. Really need your help guys..

Tsunku

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2010
Hi

Im sorry to bother you guys but i have a serious problem thats probably really easy to solve by you guys.
I recently build my first computer it was a lot of fun and it actually went pretty well,
that is until i installed windows 7 on it. Installation went fine but as soon as i started windows
it was one big mess of BSOD, randam reboots and all sorts of other errors. So i checked the hardware through
various methods (memtest etc.) but it was all fine. So i started to think it was driver related.. maybe the
ATI drivers, but that also wasn't it. Then i read something that the default bios voltage settings etc are
sometimes wrong so i used this Auto overclocking utility in BIOS and what do you know it solved everything.
It went from 2.8ghz to 3.4ghz and it was as stable as a brick wall. For a couple of days everything was fine
until i started playing games, WOW in this case.. and it crashed giving an error that was related to either
ram or temperatures. So i downloaded realtemp and to my horror the cpu temps were off the chart.. between 80c - 100c !
yes it is that bad (dangerous). Ofcourse i know that this is because of the auto overclocking feature, it just does
a really bad job of OC'ing. So i pressed F5 in bios to return everything to default settings rebooted and what do you
know all the problems are back (reboots, bsod). So i used the auto overclock option again and it was stable again.
I have zero knowledge about bios settings or overclocking so my question is what options in bios should i change
to solve this ? i know that it is related to voltage or some other option maybe of the RAM but thats about all i know.
Im not intrested in overclocking so i just want a stable computer at stock speeds.
If someone can pleae help me i would be really grateful.

Thank you,
Tim

MY system:

Thermaltake Xaser VI
Corsair HX1000
Intel Core I7 860 2.80 GHz
Asus P7P55D-E Deluxe