Sign in with
Your question

Help. Sata Frozen. No boot. Tried and googled.Got pass. PICS in MSG .

Last response: in Storage
April 11, 2012 5:49:45 PM

Hi there

I've googled and searched everywhere. At this point, im yawning and angry to have to type all this out, but I went ahead and took pictures of the screens that i am seeing so you have a better idea.

I have this clients computer, he cant boot up. So the boot up to Windows 7 results in this :
http://www.thepctechguys.com/IMAG0138.JPG

So then, I take a look in the BIOS, and now i see that the sata port is frozen, which is pictured below of bios screen :

http://www.thepctechguys.com/IMAG0135.JPG

Im a decent tech I think... But I've tried using Hiren's, looking at what tools it has and figuring out how to get around this. i do have the password for this drive, though there is really no way to let me try and enter it, it seems to just want to lock me. Im not sure what security mode it was set it. I've read about erasing everything, secure erase, how the heck do i do that, what program.

I've tried booting mini xp, no drive shows up

There is lots of bios beeps when i access the drive from spinrite, usually when its in the i guess sectors at beginning that say it locked.

Sata says FROZEN, and i want to get the hell out of this mode (smart data reports via HDAT2)

Frozen/disabled

Any ideas ? HDD regen? its hitachi, I've checked their site as well, no luck.. Whats a way to get this working again.

LAPTOP = E440 Emachines, i know piece of a crap. But i have to fix this .
April 11, 2012 6:32:29 PM

try setting bios to default or change from ide to ahci to see if that helps
m
l
April 11, 2012 6:40:01 PM

You may have already tried this, but have you tried to reinstall Windows 7 and just do a repair? I looked up the error code, and I think it may be a registry error. I'll try to look it up again.
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
April 11, 2012 7:10:53 PM

Email the mainboard manufacturer,