Sign in with
Your question

Help! High buzz noise from my 5870?

Last response: in Systems
March 17, 2010 2:53:56 PM

Hi,
I just built a system but there seems to be a loud buzz that is really annoying.
I have a xfx ati radeon 5870 and the sounds seems to be coming from there.
The buzz is faint but a little high pitch so I can't stand it.
This is my first build so if I can get any help I would be grateful.

Here is the details w/ my investigation so far
1. Sounds like its coming from the graphics card/cpu area.
2. I disconnected the graphics card from the motherboard and turned the computer on and there was no sound.
3. Using my computer programs, I changed the power to cpu/fans/(?) and the sound was constant.
4. Using my ear, doesn't seem to be the cd drive/hard drive ( The hard drive does make some noise but it's the usual stuff)

Any help would be greaaatly appreciated.

More about : high buzz noise 5870

March 17, 2010 3:23:06 PM

How old is the GPU card ?

What type of monitor are you using ?

Can you insert the card into a diff system, to absolutely confirm ?

Check the cooling fan/hole to be sure some debri (a hair?) is not physically being touched by the GPU fan.

Likely, from your description, a transformer (or fan bearing) on your GPU is "starting to fail".

= Al =
m
l
March 17, 2010 3:29:09 PM

I think there is something wrong with the gpu's fan.
Check if it is tightly fixed to the gpu, or if it is somehow damaged.

You could also check if there is something interfering with the airflow in the gpu fan.

A cpu fun also gives out a lod buzz if one of its blades is cracked.
m
l
Related resources
March 17, 2010 4:32:00 PM

thanks for the information.
I just purchased the 5870 last week.
I have a Asus 26in monitor and I am sure that I am using the correct pci-e 16x slot for my motherboard (Asus p7p55d-e pro I checked the manual and put into the color-coded blue slot).
Is it possible that a high pitch buzz can be coming from my motherboard, cpu or cpu fan?