Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Building my first system and encountered a problem

Last response: in Systems
March 17, 2010 5:57:11 PM

Hi every1, I am a newbie on this forum so I hope I didnt post this on the wrong section.

Several days ago, I got all parts for my computer and start building

parts are:
cpu: amd phenom II 955
mobo: Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P
RAM: OCZ OCZ3P1333LVAM4GK DDR3 PC3-10666 Platinum AMD Edition Memory Module
gpu: sapphire ati radeon5770
hd: wd black cavaliar 7200rpm

I assemble everything, start up computer. It works alright. I install windos7 64 bit, everything still alright. I install my game and start playing, then after a while, I keep getting sudden hang and restart. Then after thinking for a while, I guess that there must be some problem with the RAM. I go to http://hcidesign.com/memtest/download.html and download a memory test software and run it. yes it gave me some error. I use amazon and ask for exchange. I got the exchange even before I return my ram, so right now I have 4 stick of 2gb ram. I install the new ram and the software still shows error and I have ensure all ESD precaution is taken on the second install. I call ocz tech service and they told me to test the ram one by one, and also try at different dimm slot. I try and all gave me an error. The error include: error message from the software saying "memory address xxxx to xxxx cant store value properly", suddenly monitor turn grey and freeze, suddenly monitor turn blue and then restart.

Then I thought maybe something to do with bios setting, I have tried the auto setting and 7-7-7-20, 16.6v and both still give me an error.

as you can see my tech knowledge arent very deep and I have run out of any idea of what might be wrong, the ocz tech guy says that my mobo is at fault, but I hope that isnt the case. I really appreciate any help or idea that I can have

Thank you.
March 17, 2010 10:54:26 PM