Sign in with
Your question

1055T À Gogo

Last response: in CPUs
May 27, 2010 7:56:11 AM

After what seemed like a lifetime of comparison shopping, forum scouring and re-editing my newegg cart, I decided on the following system, bought it, built it and have enjoyed the crap out of it so far.

CPU: AMD PII X6 1055T
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3 1600 4gb (2x2gb)
GPU: Gigabyte Radeon HD5850
PSU: Corsair CMPSU-750TX Power Supply (750W)
Case: Azza Solano (Blue)
CPU Cooler: Corsair H50 (with two fans / push-pull setup)

With the additional 120mm fan I picked up, I have a total of 5 case fans (2 front intake, 1 bottom intake, 1 side intake and 1 top exhaust) and another 2 dedicated to moving air through the H50's radiator. I've been able to steadily increase my overclock (I'm new to it, apologies for the noob-ness of the numbers) to ~3.5ghz base and pretty much exactly 4ghz with turbo-boost enabled; thus, the cpu's running at 4ghz pretty much all the time since I'm mostly a gamer and only render the occasional desktopper with Apophysis. With the insane amount of case cooling in addition to the H50, I've yet to see CPU temps go above 35C, ever: even with benchmarking marathons. I'm nearing the top end voltage-wise (1.475V), but it's been ultra-stable with Overdrive, Passmark's PerformanceTest and PCMark.

Results so far:
Overdrive benchmark test: 8698
Passmark PT CPU Mark: 6881.3
PC Mark Vantage: 7722 PCMarks

Anyway, I guess this is my "any questions?" post. Since the processor itself is still so new (and I've spent far too much time fuggin' around with mine) I'm happy to discuss any questions or suggestions people have, as well as run any benchmark tests anyone's interested in seeing. It's been a blast so far: now's the time to use me as a guinea pig for your curiosity, hopefully not seeming arrogant or self-congratulatory. Just looking to add to the already "laxamentum ad absurdum" glut of information that is Tom's.

So...whaddya think?