Sign in with
Your question

Can you explain to me CPU overclocking? (I'm not a complete newbie)

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
January 24, 2013 9:33:19 PM

Hello, so I am not new to the concept of overclocking, as I have managed to gain quite a bit of performance from my GPU, as you can see on my profile. Also, I am studying to be a computer technician, so I know some basic stuff like what is the FSB or North Bridge.

But now, I've been thinking about overclocking my AMD Phenom II X3 710 processor which is currently at the stock speed of 2600 MHz.

I thought that it would be as simple as overclocking a GPU, where I just increased core and memory speeds by 10 MHz and shader by 25 MHz (to keep the 1:2,5 ratio of core:shader) until a stress test program (MSI Kombustor) showed artifacts, or a driver crashed, while also monitoring my GPU temperature.

But, I found out that it is not the same. After reading about reference clocks, CPU multipliers, HT Buses etc, I got confused.

What I do understand is that the reference clock is something as a base for everything else. And CPU multiplier is a value which multiplied by the reference clock gives you the clock speed of your CPU (In my case it is 200 MHz x 13 = 2600 MHz). Also as far as I understand the HT Bus is something of a FSB which is integrated into the CPU itself (If my motherboard has the socket to support that kind of a processor does my MB even have an FSB?).

But what confuses me is that the NVIDIA Control Panel (which I used to OC my GPU) shows the HT Bus as 200 MHz under both CPU and Motherboard. So, is my reference clock actually the HT Bus? Because if I move the slider of the HT Bus, it changes the value of both CPU Frequency under CPU and HT Bus Frequency under Motherboard. Please explain.