Building $600 - $800 advice

vigorvermin

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2010
Hi,

I'm new to building and have just done a bunch of research at this point. Any advice you have would be great.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: I won't use the computer till this fall (Sept. ish...I could even wait for black friday if you think I should) so anytime between now and then

BUDGET RANGE: (Low: 600 High: 800) After Rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: (graphic design, photo editing, productivity, gaming, video editing)

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: I just need the tower

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Whatever is cheapest and not a scam

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA

PARTS PREFERENCES: I'll list what I've found below so far

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Probably not, though I don't know how this effects anything other than gaming

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1680x1050 - though I might get a new monitor in the future

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: It would be nice if it was quiet and maybe under budget if you see anything not needed. If you think it's a good idea to max out the budget I will also consider that, even if you think it's wise to go over a little (note the little)

This is what I've found so far:

$158 CPU and Mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.353282
$87 RAM 4GB DDR3 1600
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227503
$125 Case and PS
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.345228
$85 1tb storage drive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822145287
$60 Windows 7
$24 DVD Burner
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827135204
$150 Graphics Card Radeon 5770 1GB:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131331

$699 Total

I was also thinking about a 4850 Radeon, didn't know if this would effect performance other than gaming.