Copper Shims?

izixyl

Honorable
Jan 26, 2013
I have an HP dv8t (service manual) with an Intel i7 Q720 processor and NVIDIA GeForce GT 230M graphics. I need to take the laptop apart for a couple of reasons:

1. it is having heat problems and likely needs to be cleaned.
2. This laptop suffers from a problem common to this model in which the wifi and sound controls will randomly shut off and on due to a improperly ground cable (sleeplessnerd documents the problem and how to fix it).

I never work on laptops though I know enough about how to install hardware on a PC. On the other hand, I did build a PC (but it was a decade ago) and I fixed about my Xbox last year. I'm an amateur but I think it would be good skill to develop since I might need to clean it again on the cheap.

In the process of watching youtube videos of people taking apart their laptops, I came across a guy that installed copper shims on his processor and graphics chip and this was supposed to allow it run cooler. It seems like a very cheap, simple way of getting your laptop to run cooler, therefore faster/longer. I'd like to pull something like this off if I could but this would be bit more complicated than just cleaning out the dust. For one, it could make it impossible to put the laptop back together.

So does anyone have any advice?
Are copper shims worthwhile?
Are the dimensions of a copper shim have to be specific to particular line of hardware (the computers or the components themselves)?
Is this way too advanced for a novice?
Possible problems?

Solution
Skip the shims and stick with a good thermal interface material (google if you don't know what this is). If you were to add copper shims you'd just be adding another layer of material for the heat to transfer through and you'd need TIM on both sides of the shim.

mlcaouette

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2011